By Amanda Wicks

Gloria Gaynor’s classic 1978 hit “I Will Survive” gets a modern day reboot thanks to Demi Lovato. It’s part of The Angry Birds Movie (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), which officially drops Friday.

Related: Demi Lovato Unleashes Twitter Rant for the Books

The song itself keeps a lot of the original’s style, replete with disco inflections and sound effects, but it’s Demi’s voice that makes the singular difference. Her vocal ability to run circles around a song lends this version of “I Will Survive” a far more emotive quality. It’s as if she’s fed up and is getting all of her frustration out through the song.

Other names from the soundtrack include Blake Shelton, Charli XCX and Limp Bizkit. Blake pulls double duty for the movie: He not only lends the song “Friends” to the soundtrack, but he actually voices a pig.

Check out the full tracklist below, as well as Demi’s “I Will Survive.”

01. Blake Shelton – “Friends”
02. Demi Lovato – “I Will Survive”
03. Matoma – “Wonderful Life (Mi Oh My)”
04. Imagine Dragons – “On Top of the World”
05. Charli XCX – “Explode”
06. Rick Astley – “Never Gonna Give You Up”
07. Scorpions – “Rock You Like a Hurricane”
08. Steve Aoki – “Fight”
09. Tone-Loc – “Wild Thing”
10. KRS-One – “Sound of da Police”
11. Limp Bizkit – “Behind Blue Eyes”
12. Peter Dinklage – “The Mighty Eagle Song”
13. The Hatchlings – “The Mighty Red Song”
14. Heitor Pereira – “Angry Birds Movie Score Medley”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live